Boating Under the Influence (BUI)
Most people are aware of the DUI laws in the State of Washington. However, not everyone is aware of the laws that criminalize being under the influence while operating a boat. The traditional DUI laws are found in Title 46 of the Revised Code of Washington, which has to do with motor vehicles. The watercraft DUI laws are buried in Title 79A, which has to do with public recreational lands. While this law is obscure and not as newsworthy as a normal DUI, the watercraft BUI is cited heavily in the summer months. The amount of BUI charges are disproportionately high in costal towns like Gig Harbor.
For a free consultation call (360) 792-1000.
RCW Title 79A contains regulations on random things like state horse parks and commercial skiing activities, but if you do a little digging in Title 79A, you will find RCW 79A.60.040. This is the statute that criminalizes operating a vessel while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Operation of vessel in a reckless manner – Operation of a vessel under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug—Consent to breath or blood test—Penalty.
The elements are as follows:
- It is unlawful for any person to operate a vessel in a reckless manner.
- It is unlawful for a person to operate a vessel while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug. A person is considered to be under the influence of intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug if, within two hours of operating a vessel:
- The person has an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher as shown by analysis of the person’s breath or blood made under RCW 46.61.506; or
- The person has a THC concentration of 5.00 or higher as shown by analysis of the person’s blood made under RCW46.61.506; or
- The person is under the influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor, marijuana, or any drug; or
- The person is under the combined influence of or affected by intoxicating liquor, marijuana, and any drug.
DUI v. BUI – Similarities and Differences
Just like in a normal DUI, an officer may administer field sobriety tests when the officer has probable cause to believe that the vessel operator is under the influence of alcohol or a drug. Further, a breath test may be administered pursuant to RCW 46.20.308. However, if a boat operator refuses the test, the consequence is much less severe than in a motor vehicle as shown below:
Refusal in a motor vehicle DUI – (1) a license suspension is imposed for not les than a year, (2) longer mandatory minimum jail time, (3) higher mandatory minimum fine, and, (4) the refusal can be argued in a future criminal trial.
Refusal in a vessel DUI – The officer warns the operator that if they refuse the breath test, the person will be issued a class 1 civil infraction under RCW 7.80.120. In other words, the consequence of refusing is just a small civil penalty. This is different (and less severe) than a motor vehicle DUI.
Lastly, a Washington BUI is a gross misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. Unlike a traditional DUI, there are no mandatory minimum penalties for a BUI. Washington BUI charges are handled in District and Municipal Courts, which provide some favorable options for how to resolve the charge.
Favorable Resolutions To The BUI Charge
Most jurisdictions have some form of a Pre-Trial Diversion Agreement (or PDA), which is a contract between the Defendant and the Prosecuting Authority. With this type of Diversion Agreement, the Court does not sentence a defendant, the Court merely approves the contract between the parties (the Defendant and the Prosecutor). If the defendant abides by the terms of the contract, the BUI charge is typically dismissed at the end of the agreed upon term. Procedurally, the case goes onto a long continuance and then ends in a dismissal – there is never a conviction if all the terms are met.
Click here for more information on a PDA
Witt Law Group is a DUI and BUI criminal defense law firm with offices in Gig Harbor and Bremerton Washington. If you have been cited with BUI or any other crime, give one of our offices a call for a free consultation.
3 Things To Know About Bail
If you or a loved one is being held in jail, the bail process can be very confusing. Bail is also very expensive. Consequently, by the time we get a call from family, everyone is pretty frustrated. Typically, the first question we get is whether it’s worth it to bail the person out of jail…
Olympia Municipal and Thurston County Criminal Cases — Options In Therapeutic Courts
When facing any criminal charge, it is critical to know what options you have for resolution. For example, if charged with Assault 4 with a domestic violence special allegation you have fewer alternative options to resolve the case than a Minor in Possession. In some cases, not only are there special alternative ways to resolve…
Get help now
Facing a criminal charge or investigation is life-altering and there are often more devastating collateral consequences than just the possibility of being found guilty of a crime. When you delay facing the reality of a criminal charge, you increase the likelihood that those collateral consequences will impact every area of your life–your driving privileges, your job, your family, your professional license, and your freedom. Call today to set up a free consultation. If our firm is not able to take your case, we will do our best to give a good local referral.