It has been nine months since the Washington Legislature changed the rules about traffic tickets in a BIG way. Those who do not know about the new law could end up without a license.

If you speed or get some other moving violation ticket, you can end up losing your license. Washington Department of License will suspend drivers if they get 3 tickets within one year or 4 tickets within two years.

It is MUCH easier for a driver to be suspended.

As of January 1, 2023:

  1. If a driver receives 3 moving violations within a 12-month period, your license will be suspended for 60 days. 
  2. If a driver receives 4 moving violations within a 24-month period, your license will be suspended for 60 days.
Should I hire an attorney for an infraction or traffic ticket?

After your 60 day suspension, you must:

  1. complete an 8 hour defensive driving course, and
  2. obtain SR22 (high risk) insurance for 36 months.

Once you have complied with both requirements, you then pay a $75 reissue fee and a $20 replacement fee to have your new license mailed to you.

One year probation

Finally, after you are reinstated, you will be on a one-year probation period. This means that, if you receive another moving violation during the probation period, you will be suspended again for 30 days. After your 30 day suspension, you will need to pay another $75 reissue fee.

Administrative Suspension vs. Criminal Charge

Most importantly, if you choose to ignore your suspension and drive on a suspended license, you can face a criminal charge. In that case, you won’t just be dealing with an administrative suspension but also the criminal justice system. Even if you clean up your administrative issues with the DOL, the prosecutor can still prosecute you for criminal conduct.

So, be extra careful behind the wheel and watch out for speed traps! 

Learn more about the impact of traffic tickets on your record.

If you need help defending a traffic infraction, give our office a call. Don’t forget your timeline to respond!

Ryan and Jen Witt of Witt Law Group, Kitsap County defense and personal injury lawyers

Get help now

Whether you choose to handle your case alone or engage the Witt Law Group, being informed and prepared is essential. Early involvement of an attorney can significantly impact your chances of a fair recovery, allowing you to focus on healing while we handle negotiations with insurance adjusters to secure fair compensation for your injuries.

Share this post